Skip to content

Don’t Wait. Now is the Time.

October 2, 2012

I stumbled across the quote below today and immediately decided  it belonged on my desktop. I need to step out of my comfort zone and it provided with just the kick in the butt I needed. I decided to share it with you. (Just in case you would like a kick in the butt too!)

Life is too short. We were not designed to be perfect, to have all of the answers, to know exactly what we’re doing before we begin. Life is a process. It’s about growing, learning, trying new things and beginning again. We don’t have to give up on life, or more importantly, give up on ourselves, just because we’re getting older.  We’ve gathered the experience that has made us stronger and more resilient than every before, should we stumble again, and no doubt we will. It’s not about stumbling. It’s about getting up and getting on with it.

Every day feels like a new beginning and sometimes I feel very afraid. I get caught up in the “what ifs” and “surely I will never be able to do this”. After all, look at all of the time I’ve wasted! But is any time really wasted? I doubt it. Even if we’re sitting on the couch eating Bon Bons, we’re experiencing something about life. We’re seeing what it feels like to be completely carefree, or to let our foot off the accelerator, or to savor the flavor of vanilla ice cream and chocolate, or to rest our weary bodies. Whatever the reason, there will come a time when we’ve had enough  and we’ll move on to another adventure.

The most valuable thing we can do for ourselves, is  to turn down the volume on the negative drivel that has a habit of getting way too loud. Silence self-criticism any time it’s shouting at you. Many days I can’t hear myself think! In the quiet that is left behind there is a wide open space, and in that space is written: Just do it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 5:34 pm

    I needed this message today. Thank you!

  2. October 3, 2012 8:57 am

    I post a quote in my house daily to inspire me, and this one has appeared often. Thanks for sharing it here. It’s always the right day to be reminded of this!

  3. October 13, 2012 2:52 pm

    These truly are words of wisdom. I often get caught up in “Am I doing it right?” but the point is I should be just doing and being. The time is now!

Leave a Reply

  • Senior Living Best of the Web Awards

