Skip to content

My Cup Runneth Over – New Year’s Eve 2014

December 31, 2014

cup runneth overAnother year has come and gone, and what a glorious year of learning and growth it has been! Getting older is not the torture I assumed it would be as I began my journey into awareness at mid-life. I know there will be difficulties ahead, as there have been behind, and I would be fooling myself if I did not admit that sometimes they terrify me.  I’ve slowly developed a trust, however, in the resilience of the creative spirit that lives in each and every one of us, even and perhaps especially as our human body disintegrates.

Although I have never been able to pin down, in black and white, or in sufficient detail to satisfy my monkey mind, the purpose and full nature of the Source without Source, I will never deny that each and every one of us has value and purpose far beyond our wild imaginings….a value and purpose that is ours for the asking, ours for the embracing, ours for the learning from, ours for the growing into, ours for the benefit of life itself. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that when we tune into the source of our creative spirit, whatever that may be, and choose to embrace it, there is nothing but good that can come from it. This belief sustains me.

When I stare into the eyes of death, I come more and more to a place where, on good days, I find I can simply accept its ultimate visit to me as a mystery to be experienced, not feared, and embraced for what it has to teach me. I suspect I will learn much about the value of letting go as I approach it.  It will come and when it does either all of my questions will be answered or it will simply be the end and that will be that.

In the meantime, I have today. You have today. This moment. Here. Now. In whatever capacity we are able to embrace it, embrace it we must.  It offers limitless opportunities to learn and grow in wisdom and awareness of what is truly important. As we slowly, but steadily remove the shackles of denial from our minds and the film of an ego-centered lifestyle from our internal vision we can develop a greater capacity for unconditional love, both for ourselves and for others.

As we step into and live from a place of wisdom, truth and unconditional love we will be filled to overflowing with all good things. Like an overflowing cup, an image my sweet friend Jill reminded me of just the other day, it will spill out into the world. It is an image that speaks to me, one that I will be taking with me into the new year as a guiding symbol and an ever-present reminder to dwell in love.

What image will you carry with you on your journey this year?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. earthnskystudio permalink
    January 1, 2015 2:16 am

    Happy New Year, Dorothy! You are such an inspiration and encouragement to me.

    • January 1, 2015 12:13 pm

      Thank you! Happy New Year to you too! I am so glad you are in my world, Diane. (I totally love, love, love my earrings!)

      • earthnskystudio permalink
        January 1, 2015 3:03 pm

        You have no clue how happy it makes me to hear that you love the earrings! ^_^

  2. January 13, 2015 4:27 am

    Dorothy, thank you so much for sharing your insightful reflections on embracing ‘life’ and ‘now’. I will take with me into this year images of gratitude and thankfulness.

Leave a Reply

  • Senior Living Best of the Web Awards

