Skip to content

What Do You Long For?

March 27, 2012

The busyness of our day-to-day lives and the constant distractions of the world around us make it easy for us to push aside, or forget entirely, our most important longings. Each one of us is born with an intense desire for something, a yearning toward something. It pushes, pulls and nudges us through life, changing shape, form or destination. Rarely, however, do we take the time to get to know what lies beneath this pressing forward. Is it truly what we think it is?

Are we yearning toward something, someone, some achievement? If so, why? Chances are we’ve reached a desired destination, at least a few times in our lives. Sometimes we’re satisfied us for a time, but soon we find we are restless once again and begin reaching again for something more. This striving leads us on so many journeys in the course of a lifetime and we learn much from each one of them.

Just as often that yearning is, shoved aside, or in some way denied by us or the world. We never get the promotion we worked so hard to obtain, we never have the means or the opportunity to own our dream home or see the faraway place we dreamed of visiting as a child; we are childless when all we wanted was a dozen children, we are husband-less when all we wanted was love. Dreams big or small are shattered.

Those things we yearn toward can never satisfy our longing entirely, even in the best of circumstances, providing only fleeting, temporary satisfaction. Perhaps it is the journey itself that holds the real value. Not the destination. “Hunger is holy”, Sarah ban Breathnach reminds us. Our hunger will always lead us in the direction that we are meant to travel. We were born to embrace the journey. Perhaps it is time to let go of the outcome and to instead live in the hunger, to detach from the idea that the destination is what is important. Then we may begin to understand the value of yearning.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 12:22 pm

    Great message, keep motivating people!

  2. March 27, 2012 1:09 pm

    It’s so nice to meet you. Thank you for sharing!

  3. March 27, 2012 2:27 pm

    I’d like to share a cute little short poem I wrote many, many years ago as I was examining my purpose and wants and needs and yes, longings. Here it is:

    Why did you give up longing little girl?
    Was it because it was such a long, long
    LONG long for such a little, little girl?

    I remember at the time, I’d stopped longing for anything as I was discouraged and not very hopeful for my future. This helped me get over that hump because I realized my little girl had given up since nothing seemed to happen for me when I wanted it. I began to learn more about how life manifests through our desires later in life.

    Thanks for listening

  4. earthnskystudio permalink
    March 27, 2012 4:15 pm

    Again Dorothy, another post whose timing was perfect! The Journey is the utmost of importance ~ especially since we are not guaranteed “tomorrow”. Stay present. Stay focused. And most importantly, enjoy the Journey! Thanks for the reminder! ^_^

  5. March 28, 2012 1:09 pm

    This message resonates with me, so much so that I linked to it with my blog. I especially love your statement, “Our hunger will always lead us in the direction that we are meant to travel. We were born to embrace the journey.” Very true! Thank you!

    • March 28, 2012 1:17 pm

      Thanks Shelley! Just paid a visit to your website. Boy does it resonate with me! Look forward to following your journey and where it leads!

  6. March 31, 2012 11:46 pm

    I came here from the recommendation over at Shelly O’s blog and am very happy that I did. Your words mirror so well the thoughts I have been having on my own journey. I cannot think that I will ever reach a point where I would be satisfied to stand still. My yearning is for the journey itself, each new lesson teaches me how much more I need to learn as well as the great joy in every step.

    • April 1, 2012 10:57 am

      Welcome! I’m glad you stopped by! I look forward to learning more about your journey in our conversations here. We can glean so much from each other’s stories. DS

  7. May 7, 2012 11:56 pm

    Desires……longing…… Buddhists say that much of our suffering is rooted in desire. Interestingly, I just watched one of Oprah’s new network (OWN) shows – an autobiography of a sort. She was commenting on “letting go” and stated that she wanted the part in The Color Purple more than anything she had ever desired. After the audition (she had no acting experience whatsoever) she was told that her prospects were nil. Instead of harboring ill feeling toward her competitors (other experienced actors), she began a process of “letting go.” At the end of this process, when she had decided that she could move on with her life, she got a call. She got the part. Interesting.

Trackbacks

  1. The Life Transformation Journey « Realize Your Dreams
  2. Getting it Together after Fifty | Aging Abundantly

Leave a comment

  • Senior Living Best of the Web Awards