Skip to content

There’s a New Revolution

March 13, 2014

Saatchi Art

Spring Rapture by Jo Louca

I swear! Really! I’m sensing a new revolution! An underground explosion. A bubbling up of the voice of the wise woman warrior. We will not be had. We will not be put into preconceived packages, plastic ideologies, convoluted conveyances. We will resist, evade and avoid anything that is not authentic. When we started out online more than ten years ago, there was an honesty about the voice of the woman over fifty. As the free market would have it, this voice has lost some of its realness, its edgy honesty, its frank feedback, and its freedom of expression. Too many have become exploited and consumed in the process.  The time has come to interrupt this  drifting away from reality.

In my last post I suggested that I was feeling the need to escape my own self-construction on Aging Abundantly.  I have begun anew in another section of cyberspace, but I’m beginning to see that there will always be a place for a discussion of our ever evolving perspective as women of growing wisdom. To fall silent, to walk away, to evade or avoid is to condone the voice of the babbling cultural idiots. We need not condemn, but we must never grow silent. So I will continue here to lend my voice in any way I can. Hopefully it will be about truth in aging, the real and the ugly, not just the ideals and perfection.

Let’s continue raising our voice for truth and authenticity wherever we travel. Today I would like to honor the fabulous “third half of life” adventurer “Renee”. She makes me laugh out loud. Her blog today inspired me to write this post and to once again be reminded that I am not alone in my thoughts and idiosyncratic view of life and all that is.  I think you will enjoy: Guerrilla Aging: Navigating the Third Half of Life.

My love and appreciation also goes out to the ever effervescent, ever on-the-cusp-of-something special, Sophie Lumen. Sophie and her blog Feed the Beauty came into my life at a time when  I needed to know someone believed in what I was doing…what we are doing.  She was there again when I launched Manifest Me 2014. You will find her on Facebook and Pinterest, and likely on any other happening social media venue. After all, she is a social media rock star!

Two of my new favorite blogs:

PLAIN & FANCY – Marian Beaman: Former Plain Girl

AGING INTROVERT 

And perhaps you’d enjoy a visit to my new blogs:

Quotes by Women

Manifest Me 2014

© Dorothy Sander 2014

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2014 3:16 pm

    Today I saw these words on the sweatshirt of a woman, obviously, a writer: “Careful, or you’ll end up in my novel.” I take that as a sign of a vibrant woman, one who refuses to grow old–aways a new project in view.

  2. March 13, 2014 4:13 pm

    Thanks Dorothy, good luck with your new blogs.

  3. March 13, 2014 10:08 pm

    Please don’t go away – we need your authentic, elder voice.

  4. March 14, 2014 3:50 pm

    Reblogged this on Feed the Beauty and commented:
    Philosopher-Wise Woman Dorothy is on to something here-it IS in the air. I’m grateful for her wisdom and attentiveness to the bigger SOUL picture. Read on…

Leave a Reply

  • Senior Living Best of the Web Awards

