Skip to content

Simplifying

February 24, 2015

I have written many, many words over the years on the value of simplicity. Living it is a whole other story! I don’t have a problem so much with the accumulation of material goods. What I have a problem with is creating in ever-widening circles to the point where I am no longer the least bit in control of what I’ve created! Perhaps that’s an oxymoron, anyway, but in an attempt to keep my sanity and my focus I am going to once again attempt to combine my efforts in one location. When I set up the Aging Abundantly website I encouraged readers to move on over there, but fans of WordPress are hooked into the flow and dissemination process and many of you never made the switch.  I’m going to try again. Please take a moment to visit the Aging Abundantly website and sign up to receive posts. If you have any question, or run into a problem, let me know. I appreciate you and I don’t want to lose contact!

I have collected all of my blogs from the past five plus years and am in the process of putting them in an e-book so that they will be more easily accessible. The first volume will be available in the next week or so for a nominal fee. The blogs will remain here for a time and accessible free of charge. The e-book version just makes it easier to read at your convenience.  I will also keep this blog open for re-blogging. There are so many wonderful bloggers out there that I think you might enjoy as well. All of my own writing, however, will take place on my website and from time to time on the ManifestMe blog where I write about my healing journey.

I also have been writing for iSeniorSolutions.com on caregiving and aging.  Here are a few of my most recent posts.

Help! I Feel Trapped Caring for My Aging Mother

After a Parent Dies – Family Dynamics

Family Caregiving Dynamics

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2015 5:43 pm

    Some of my blog friends have begun simplifying by taking a social media fast during the lenten season. By the way, I get regular notifications when you post, Dorothy.

    • February 24, 2015 7:58 pm

      I seriously thought of doing the same thing, Marian. My livelihood depends on being online at the moment, but maybe next year! I’m glad you receive notifications. It confirms for me that all is working.

  2. February 25, 2015 1:14 pm

    You model aging gracefully and abundantly for us. And your need to simplify would be called “wise” by my 101-year-old MIL. One of her wise sayings, heard often: “As you age, simplify.” She has aged amazingly well–still lives independently, alone in her home of 65+ years. She’s able to do this because she has pared down her must-dos, her energy-sappers, and much of her “stuff” (but still enjoys watering her easy-care green plants).

    You, of course, are wise and thoughtful (must be working like crazy to make your previous writings available); but you will have closed the loop.You were the first person to comment on my blog when I began in 2010. A thrill! I thank you again for that and look forward to many more years of Aging Abundantly.

    • February 25, 2015 2:03 pm

      Ah, you touched my heart, Susan. It has been an amazing journey since 2010. We have all learned so much from each other and I too look forward to the years together that lay before us. I’m proud of what our generation has done toward creating a more positive idea of aging. The wisdom I come in contact with simply astounds me – and it always, always strengthens and supports me. I always learn something when visiting your website! Thanks so much for your kind and generous comments over the years.

Leave a comment

  • Senior Living Best of the Web Awards